Luka Modric Named Winner of 2018 Ballon d’Or

Luka ModricLuka Modric

Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric has been named the 2018 Ballon d’Or on Monday, becoming the first player not named Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to earn the honor since 2007.

Modric, 33, beat out Ronaldo and Antoine Griezmann, respectively, for the illustrious prize. Both Ronaldo and Messi had won it five times apiece over a 10-year run, and all three men were named to France Football’s 30-player shortlist in October. Messi’s fifth-place finish is his worst since 2006 and it comes despite leading Barcelona to La Liga and Copa del Rey titles.

The midfielder adds the award to his list of others accolades received this year, including UEFA Best Player, FIFA Best Men’s Player and the Golden Ball at the World Cup.

Receive Alerts on: Whatsapp: CLICK HERE (WhatsApp Only), Follow us on Twitter: @OkayNigeria.

Farouk Mohammed
the authorFarouk Mohammed
Chief Editor
Farouk Mohammed is a Senior Editor at Okay Nigeria ( He has been publishing for 5 years and focused more on Local/World News on

Leave a Reply

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this. - Read our Privacy policy