INEC Finally Releases Official Results of FCT Council Elections


Nine days after the Council polls, the Independent National Electoral Commission, has finally released official results.

SEE Official results as released via INEC Press statement:


The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates in five (5) out of six(6) Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have been declared winners of the Saturday 9th April Chairmanship elections by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), while the APGA candidate in Gwagwalada Area Council was declared winner in the keenly contested election.

In Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), the APC candidate, Abdullahi Adamu, was declared winner after polling 27, 482 votes, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Kura Bitrus Tanko, emerged runner up with a total of 21,965 votes.

In Abaji Area Council, Abdulrahaman Ajayi, of the APC was declared winner, having won with a total of 13,515 votes. He was closely followed by the PDP candidate, Yahaya Garba, who polled 10,632 votes.
The Chairmanship seat in Bwari Area Council was won by Musa Dikko of APC, with 18, 066 votes, while the runner up, PDP’s Andrew S. Gwani Igu, polled 13,279 votes.

Danze Mustapha Adams, the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate in the Gwagwalada Chairmanship elections was declared winner by INEC after he polled 15,950 votes to defeat his close contestant Abubakar Jibrin Giri, of APC who got 14,569 votes.

In Kuje Area Council, the APC candidate, Adullahi D. Galadima, was declared winner with a total of 15, 175 votes polled, while Ishaku Tete Shaban, of the PDP followed closely with 13,650 votes.

Hon. Joseph K. Shazin, of the APC emerged winner of Kwali Area Council with a total of 15,309 votes, while Daniel Ibrahim, of the PDP polled 13,673.


Farouk Mohammed

Farouk Mohammed is a Senior Editor at Okay Nigeria (Okay.NG). He has been publishing for 5 years and focused more on Local/World News on Okay Nigeria.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.